Nintendo World 2011 – Take 2

So we just had the North American and European Nintendo Worlds, and like the Japanese one, they were both about the 3DS.  Living in Canada, I’m going to focus on the NA one.

Price

$250 is what I was expecting for the device, not too expensive for serious gaming, but a bit high for a casual purchase.  As I said in my previous Nintendo World 2011 post, Nintendo could be focusing on the core gamers first, and will worry about weening it’s expanded audience off the DS over time; by which point, newer models will come out, and the price might drop.  Games are more important than price, but the games also lean towards the core.

Online

Nintendo has made some significant improvements in this direction.

  1. Universal Friend Codes
  2. Purchases are made with money instead of points
  3. A Virtual Console for old GameBoy & Advance games
  4. Game transfers from other 3DS and DSi units

A lot of these improve what Nintendo has done before, but they also show how Nintendo is a bit late to the game, Sony and/or Microsoft have done all of these on their systems.  I especially like the money idea since I hate having loose points just sitting on my accounts, just waiting for something to come along and be spent on; even Microsoft screwed that one up.

Launch games

Nintendo released this list of games coming out in the “launch window” (taken from GoNintendo)

First-Party Titles:

  • Pilotwings Resort
  • nintendogs + cats
  • Steel Diver

Third-Party Titles:

  • Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked
  • Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition
  • Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D
  • Madden NFL Football
  • The Sims 3
  • Pro Evolution Soccer 2011 3D
  • LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars
  • Ridge Racer 3D
  • Dual Pen Sports
  • Super Monkey Ball 3D
  • Thor: God of Thunder
  • CRUSH 3D
  • BUST-A-MOVE UNIVERSE
  • Samurai Warriors Chronicles
  • Dead or Alive Dimensions
  • Asphalt 3D
  • Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Shadow Wars
  • Combat of Giants: Dinosaurs 3D
  • Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell 3D
  • Rayman 3D
  • Rabbids Travel in Time

A lot more core games in the list than expanded audience games, aren’t there.  The big thing that sticks out for me is the weakness in what Nintendo’s offering.  Nintendogs + cats is going to be huge, but it’s an expanded audience game, and I’m more interested in core games; Steel Diver just doesn’t look that great to me, which leaves me with Pilotwings Resort.  Now, I loved PilotWings on the SNES—never got the N64 version—so that’s the Nintendo game I’m getting at (or near) launch; but it seems odd that Nintendo didn’t have something a bit more “big ticket” for launch, like Kid Icarus, Mario Kart or Paper Mario, or one of the remakes (Zelda, Star Fox).

Fortunately, there are third parties bringing some good games; I remember the N64 and how devoid of titles that launch was.  The downer part is that there are a lot of ports and remakes, which I talked about before, but at least there’s some good stuff in there.

I’m probably going to get Super Street Fighter IV 3D and Dead or Alive Dimensions, as I love fighters; I just wish third parties had put more of them on Nintendo systems over the last few years.  I wanted to see BlazBlue Continuum Shift II show up as I haven’t played that before, I have played recent versions of the other though; maybe I’ll grab a used copy of BB Calamity Trigger to get a feel for it.

I could also go for a good platformer, but haven’t played a Rayman game in years; I know this one is a remake of Rayman 2, but it’ll still be new to me.  Since Mario Kart is decidedly absent, I might go for Ridge Racer or Asphalt; and I like the sound of Crush, I know it’s a remake from the PSP, but I might give that a try.

What’s missing?

Sadly, Nintendo’s going to pull a Sony and not have some of the 3DS’ features ready right off the bat; I just hope they don’t go the extra step and start cutting features later, and let Sony take the initiative on that front. (again taken from GoNintendo)

  • web browser to be made available at a later date
  • eShop downloads to come at a later date
  • DSiWare transfers
  • play/access 3-D movies

The web browser is not a big deal, I’d rather browse the web on my computer; and if I’m away from home, wouldn’t I needs a device that connects to the cell phone network to get access?  Like a cell phone?

The eShop?  We waited years for the DSi and DSiWare, but in this day and age, it should be ready for the get go.

DSiWare transfers, I’m not planning on throwing away my DSi, but still, I’d like to get my downloaded games transferred as soon as possible so I’m not keeping unwanted hardware lingering around my room.

3D movies were not that big a deal for me, I barely watch movies myself; but if Nintendo is trying to show up Sony on the 3D front, they’re going to want this feature straightened out soon.

Onward and upward

With the 3DS arriving on March 27th, I am looking forward to it, even though it’s not a perfect launch; there are a few holes I hope get filled in over the first few months.

This entry was posted in 3DS, Nintendo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nintendo World 2011 – Take 2

  1. red_locker says:

    Yeah, this looks like the original DS all over again in regards to software.

    But hey, I’d get one.

  2. Pingback: eShop has a Lousy POS | Fall from Angel Land

Leave a Reply

